22 December 2020 Nouvelles UdeS
Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) awards its Brockhouse Medal

Professor Alexandre Blais’ contribution recognized by his peers

Alexandre Blais

Photo : Michel Caron UdeS

By awarding its Brockhouse Medal, the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) wishes to recognize both the theoretical contribution and the leadership of Alexandre Blais, Professor in the Department of Physics and Director of the Université de Sherbrooke’s  Institut quantique. His work has laid down the theoretical foundations of quantum electrodynamics (QED) in circuits.

His theoretical contribution is also at the heart of quantum computer architectures based on super conducting qubits currently being developed by companies such as Amazon, Google or IBM. His leadership is not only in the scientific direction of the Institut quantique, but also at the Canadian level, as he is actively working on the development of a national quantum strategy.

This is the second time the CAP has recognized Alexandre Blais’ research. In 2011, he was awarded the Herzberg Medal. “I am very grateful to have been chosen by my peers, the physicists of Canada, to receive this distinction. We are a very dynamic scientific community, and I am honored to be part of it. I am privileged to share this recognition with those who work with me and who have invested their knowledge and skills in the development of physics.” said Professor Blais.

For the Vice-Rector of Research and Graduate Studies at the Université de Sherbrooke, Professor Jean-Pierre Perreault, this recognition is further proof of the relevance of focusing on quantum science and applied technologies: “I would like to congratulate Professor Blais on this distinction. In addition to representing research excellence in an extremely promising field, he is also showing leadership by playing an important role in the development of a major quantum cluster in Sherbrooke.”

About the Brockhouse Medal

Created in 1999, the Brockhouse Medal recognizes excellence in theoretical or experimental research in condensed matter and materials physics. It is jointly sponsored by the CPA and the Division of Condensed Matter and Materials Physics (DCMMP) and is awarded in honour of Bertram Brockhouse. Bertram Brockhouse was awarded the 1994 Nobel Prize in Physics for his outstanding contribution to condensed matter physics in Canada.

Stay connected