Dr. Gaétan Langlois, Chair

Its dedication to clinical, academic and research activities ensures that the Department of Surgery is a living force within the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences.

The Department faculty is composed of geographic full-time and clinical teaching professors split up into 11 divisions. Teaching activities are conducted at several institutions collaborating with the Centre hospitalier universitaire de Sherbrooke (CHUS) [University of Sherbrooke Hospital Centre], the main node of a network that also includes Chicoutimi and Moncton campuses, and many affiliated hospitals: Arthabaska’s Hôtel-Dieu, Longueuil’s Charles-Lemoyne Hospital, Drummondville’s Sainte-Croix Hospital, Montreal’s Saint-Luc and Sainte-Justine Hospitals, and Val d’or’s Vallée de l’Or Hospital Centre.

Faculty members are actively committed to conducting teaching within the framework of the undergraduate program and the several postdoctoral training programs, which are accredited by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and the Collège des médecins du Québec[College of Physicians of Quebec].

Committed to excellence, the Department of Surgery is providing its researchers with a favorable, stable and competitive environment through its infrastructures, fixed assets, and human resources. Newly trained researchers are set for promising career perspectives.

The Department’s goal, mission, and values are related to the orientations of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences in order to improve the health and well-being of people through training, research, care, and knowledge transfer.

Organigram - Department of Surgery